Bringing Passion and Curiosity to the Classroom

Passion quotient (P.Q.) and curiosity quotient (C.Q.) are just as important as I.Q. according to Friedman (2013).  So what can I do as an educator to practice this in my teaching?

First, I had to come up with something that I am passionate and curious about.  After reviewing Berger’s (2014) chapter about Questioning for Life,  I began thinking about what makes me shine and why.

I started to look through pictures on my phone and realized that I have a lot of pictures of water…I mean a lot.  Looking at the pictures makes me really happy.  I might be working on a yacht, kayaking, paddleboarding, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, swimming or just wading.  I have been from the Delaware River in Philadelphia to the Cheboygan River on Lake Huron.  I also traveled through the Welland Canal twice (that’s enough for me).  I have learned an enormous amount about waterways through these travels.  Living near lakes and rivers has also given me an opportunity to observe the changes every season.  The sounds the ice makes in the spring is like thunder and the ice caves are SO fun to explore.

How might I go about bringing my passion and curiosity for water into my classroom?  Here are a few ideas I came up with:

  • Use Google Cardboard to see what it is like where other people live/work.
  • Design a new way to travel on the water.
  • Create a Map on ThingLink showing how shipping freighters get supplies to us.
  • Explore GPS and navigation systems.
  • Record water temperature changes throughout the year.
  • Survey the community about ways to keep the water clean using Facebook or Twitter and share possible solutions.

I have come up with some creative ways to express my passion and curiosity in my classroom.  “What if you made one small change?” (Berger, 2014, p. 195).

Berger, W. (2014). A More Beautiful Question. New York: Bloomsbury USA.

Friedman, T. (2013). It’s the P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

Video created using iMovie

Picture Credit: Shari Saddison

Leave a Reply

