Quickfires Aren’t as Scary as They Sound

When I was first introduced to the concept of quickfires I was excited.  Probably because we were told it came from Bravo and I love anything on Bravo TV.  Another reason is because I am fairly competitive and like a good challenge to start the day.  My definition of a quickfire is:

A task that requires you to put something together that represents your learning/experiences with a serious time constraint.  

Since I loved them so much and found them to be highly effective, I want to use them in the future!  Here are some of the quickfires I can see myself using in my classroom or during staff meetings.

Haiku Deck Quickfire

The first day of class we were asked to introduce ourselves to the class…in 5 slides!  Not only as educators, but what we enjoy doing outside of school too.  Here’s what I came up with in the 30 minutes I was given.

As an educator, I am always looking for ways to incorporate everything I learn into my career.  At every staff meeting we have at my school, someone is responsible for doing an immersion activity before the meeting begins.  It usually revolves around a required reading.  This quickfire would be the perfect way to have all staff members create and share their learning.  One thing I will have to remember to do is set a timer.  We had two minutes to share ours and that was perfect.  That way everyone gets an equal opportunity to share. I can’t wait to try it!

Wordle Taboo Quickfire

This was probably my favorite quickfire of all.  We were each given a card with a word on wordletop and 3 descriptive words underneath.  We had to create a word cloud to get others to guess the word on top without using the descriptive words.  My word was Michigan State University and I couldn’t use Spartans, College, or MSU.

 

I used a website called ABCya! to generate this word cloud.  This is a website that my students have used in computer class and they talk about it a lot.  I never knew you could create a word cloud using this site!

Word Cloud

Not only was this a super fun game to play with adults, I can see the students really learning a lot by playing this game.  It would be perfect for vocabulary review.  You could even have the students create the cards!

Learning from Quickfires

It’s obvious that these can be really fun and exciting, but how are they helping us learn?  The first thing that comes to mind is the assessment of transfer.  According to Bransford, Brown, and Cocking (2000); transfer is extending learning from one experience to another.  I truly can’t think of a better way to use these quickfires.  To truly assess if a student understands a vocabulary word, I could give a Wordle Taboo quickfire assignment.  This will show if the student is able to take what they know about a word and transfer the knowledge into a word cloud with related words.  They will also be given an opportunity to guess other students’ words to earn points.  Transfer is a measure of learning and quickfires are a great way to assess a students ability to transfer.

TPACK has become an automatic thought when thinking about technology in the classroom.  I mentioned earlier the impact of a Haiku deck quickfire at staff meeting.  Here is quick view of how using Haiku deck to reflect on a required reading at a staff meeting fits in the TPACK model.

tpack part 2

Created by: Shari Saddison on Microsoft Word

Quickfires also go perfectly with what Mishra and Koehler (2009) say about technology in the classroom, “Teachers need to develop a willingness to play with technologies and an openness to building new experiences for students so that fun, cool tools can be educational” (p. 5).  What better way to get educators to experience these technology than through a quickfire…everyday?!

Here are some of my other quickfire examples.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Bransford, J. D., Brown, A. L., & Cocking, R. R. (2000). How People Learn: Brain, Mind, Experience, and School. Committee on learning research aBransford, J. D., Brown, A. L., & Cocking, R. R. (2000). How People Learn: Brain, Mind, Experience, and School. Committee on learning research and educational practice (Vol. Expanded E). doi:10.1016/0885-2014(91)90049-J

Mishra, P., & Koehler, M. J. (2009). Too cool for school? No way! Using the tpack framework: You can have your hot tools and teach with them, too. Learning and Leading with Technology. Retrieved from http://eric.ed.gov:80/ERICWebPortal/contentdelivery/servlet/ERICServlet?accno=EJ839143\nhttp://www.msuedtechsandbox.com/hybridphd/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/Mishra_Koehler_LandL_2009.pdf\nhttp://www.msuedtechsandbox.com/hybridphd/wp-content/uploads/2010/0

 

Leave a Reply

