Network Learning Project-Applesauce!

Here is an update on my Networked Learning Project.  I chose to learn how to make canned applesauce.  The only catch is that I could only use help forums, YouTube, and anything in my Personal Learning Network (PLN).  Keep reading to find out about my progress so far.   

Resources I Used

I used Pinterest to search for blogs on how to can applesauce.  Pinterest is one of my favorite places to search for things for my classroom and anything DIY.  Here are two blogs that I found on Pinterest:

Blog: A Return to Simplicity-Sugar Free Applesauce

  • I really like that this source has pictures to go along with the instructions
  • It says that you can just flip jars over to seal instead of using a canner
  • She also recommends using a peeler that will both peel and slice your apples

This blog was the most helpful because it gave several different options for what to do to your applesauce when you are finished.  I also like how this blog was short and to the point.  

 

Blog: Frugal Living NW –Canning Applesauce {A Step-By-Step Guide}

  • If you don’t have a dishwasher, you can keep your jars warm in the oven
  • You can sanitize lids and rings in a saucepan
  • You don’t have to peel apples, you can just wash and quarter them (I might try this one day)

Time to Create

After carefully studying each blog, it was time to go shopping!  It was overwhelming to say the least.  I had no idea there are so many tools you can buy for canning!  I also wanted to keep the price down as much as possible so I was relieved to find out that you don’t have to use an actual canner to can applesauce!  I tried to stick to the basics as described in blogs and shown on the list below.

Items I Used/Purchased 

  1. Canning Funnel: $1.99
  2. Quart size jars (a dozen): $7.99
  3. Apple Peeler/slicer/corer “Apple Machine”: $14.99
  4. Apples (Gala 6Ibs.): $5.00
  5. Organic cinnamon: from my pantry
  6. Spring water

What I Have Learned So Far

  • 6 pounds of apples doesn’t make a lot of applesauce

 

 

 

  • The Apple Machine is a great investment!  Here is a video clip of the first time I used it.

             

Published on YouTube

IMG_2157

  • It takes about 6 hours to soften the apples (more than I first thought)
  • It gets really hot in a small kitchen!  I learned the key to not using a “canner” is to make sure everything is hot-including the jars and lids.  This ensures a proper seal.  

One of the greatest struggles I had during this first round of making applesauce is using an immersion blender.  The blogs recommend using a food mill, food processor, or blender to get the correct consistency.  I don’t like chunky applesauce so  I tried using an immersion blender.  It turned the sauce into a cream instead.  The consistency was similar to pureed baby food!  Next time I will definitely use a normal bender and just pulse it a couple of times.

Another change I am going to make next time is the variety of apples.  I used only Gala apples and cinnamon (no sugar).  It was WAY to sweet for me!  I am going to try using a mix of apples which will include Granny Smith because they are usually more tart than sweet.

So you can get a big picture view of my experience here is Stella.  She watched over the apples as they were cooking.

Photo Credit: Shari Saddison

Campbell, Angi. (2014, November 14).  Sugar Free Applesauce.  Retrieved from http://areturntosimplicity.com/sugar-free-applesauce/

Davis, Angela. (2014, September 24).  Canning Applesauce.  Retrieved from http://www.frugallivingnw.com/canning-applesauce-step-by-step-guide/#_a5y_p=1931681

5 thoughts on “Network Learning Project-Applesauce!

  1. artmisswoodruff says:

    Very clever title! The organization of your post is lovely (the bold red headings are nice) and very easy to follow. The images really are helpful to see your process. I am sure the warm cinnamon apples really made your kitchen smell nice. I love your honesty and the sharing of your learning. You made this task seem very doable. I have never made applesauce, but would love to try and I think I could by following your post. Can’t wait to hear about your final batch of applesauce. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. qbgmath says:

    I love your post! What a fun project to do. The layout of your website, the photos, the videos are all very captivating. It makes me excited to keep on following up on what you’ve done!

    Like

  3. Katie Dahmer says:

    I was really excited to see how your project was progressing. Adding in the video of the apple peeling was really cool. I’ve never seen one in action, so that was pretty neat to see. This is a reflective post that shows you’re already looking ahead to your next go-around with apples. Can’t wait to hear how your second batch turns out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

